A little less alone.

Home Community Truth A little less alone.

• Author

I recently stepped way out of my comfort zone and went on a speaking tour with my friend Meg Frampton of Meg & Dia. The main question I was asked before our Speak Up tour was “what will you speak about?”. To be honest, it didn’t go exactly the way I expected it would. It turned out to be even better than my expectations. I pretty much poured my heart and soul out to a bunch of strangers, which is basically what I am doing right now with this blog.

I’m a 25-year-old musician that recently moved to Los Angeles and it has been a struggle to simply find my “happiness.” I’ve never felt more alone than I do living in this city, and I’ve never questioned myself more about my decision to move here. Long story short, at each Speak Up event I realized that every single person in attendance also faced the same struggles. Some were just graduating from college and trying to figure out their next step. Others had established their careers, but were still missing this “happiness” I speak of. As we shared our stories with each other around a camp fire, we began to feel a little less alone.

I think in our society we feel this pressure to act like we have it “all figured out” all the time. But honestly, I don’t think we ever have it all really figured out, and that’s absolutely okay. At one point or another in our lives, we all feel lost, scared, and alone, but there’s comfort in knowing that you aren’t the ONLY one feeling this way. I’ve noticed that a lot of us keep our feelings to ourselves because we don’t want to let ourselves be vulnerable. I’m absolutely guilty of this as well, but I’ve learned that it’s okay to talk about these feelings.

I’ll leave you with this statement that someone said to me at Speak Up: “Happiness isn’t a destination. Happiness isn’t permanent; it’s more like a compass helping point out the right direction.”